Author Topic: KL03Z and low power modes  (Read 12202 times)

Offline enrico

• View Profile
KL03Z and low power modes
« on: November 06, 2015, 10:43:56 PM »
Hello,

I am studying how uTasker manages low power modes for the KL03Z MCU. My final objective is to bring the MCU to a very low energy state (ideally very low leakage state) and use a low power timer to awake it every once in a while. Does this sound reasonable and feasible with the KL03Z?

Starting from this interesting wiki
http://www.utasker.com/kinetis/LLWU.html
I've learned that uTasker is already switching from WAIT to RUN when there are operations to perform and to STOP when there are no tasks to perform. Is this correct? Does this apply for the KL03 as well or it uses very low power states?

By analyzing the MCU energy consumption, I get an intermitting behavior that confirms what said above. The screenshot below shows the energy and the accumulated energy in time (uJ and s units).
https://www.dropbox.com/s/bmxfjf8nhjm35a3/Screenshot%202015-11-06%2016.23.27.png?dl=0

However, the off times give very low energy consumption (I get zero, which means current is lower than 500nA that is the measuring sensitivity), that does not match the energy consumption of the STOP mode provided in the data sheet. Is it really going to STOP mode? I guess this is performed into fnDoLowPower function, but I can't understand to what state this is going.

Also, the off times are about 0.2s while the on times are about 0.4s. Is this because of the watchdog? I currently have only an SPI transmission task every 4 seconds.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best,
Enrico

Offline mark

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • uTasker
Re: KL03Z and low power modes
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2015, 02:32:16 AM »
Hi Enrico