Author Topic: debug/programming - opensda jlink/pemicro?  (Read 5647 times)

Offline fvnktion

• View Profile
debug/programming - opensda jlink/pemicro?
« on: April 12, 2016, 08:56:56 PM »
Hi There,

I am just getting started with utasker for experimentation.  I am able to successfully build a project in KDS, but am wondering what the most direct way to debug/flash the board is?  The quickstart instructions video is for codewarrior and uses the flash utility which is not a part of KDS nor can it debug. 

Is it possible to easily use the opensda jlink or pemicro debuggers on the freedom boards?  If so how do I configure this?

Thanks!

Update:  After doing some experimenting I found it to be quite simple.  Go into "debug configurations" and add a "New" configuration under "GDB SEGGER J-link Debugging".  The only parameter I had to add was "MK22FN512xxx12" under "device name" in debugger settings.  It seems to be working well enough. 
« Last Edit: April 12, 2016, 09:21:31 PM by fvnktion »

Offline mark

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • uTasker
Re: debug/programming - opensda jlink/pemicro?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2016, 09:38:11 PM »
Hi

In KDS you can create a "debug configuration" to load/debug a generated file by doing the following:
1. Select the .elf file (eg. uTaskerSerialLoader_FLASH\uTaskerSerialLoader.elf) in the project explorer
2. Right click and choose "Debug as | Debug Configurations..."
3. Double click on the debugger interface that you would like to use - eg. "GDB PEMicro Interface Debugging". This will create the basic debug configuration for the project target and the HW debugger.
4. Move to the debugger tab and choose the debugger type (eg. OpenSDA) and then it should show up as being attached if it is connected and all is well.