Author Topic: Getting Started With a Custom PCB  (Read 3371 times)

Offline MU

• View Profile
Getting Started With a Custom PCB
« on: March 14, 2019, 11:34:59 PM »
Hello, I'm new to uTasker and am working with a custom PCB which already has working application code using FreeRTOS. The main goal right now is to get the uTasker Serial Loader working in USB host mode so that field upgrades can be done with a thumb drive. The processor being used is the Kinetis MK20DN512.

I've been reading the Serial Loader User's Guide and forum posts, but could still use some help getting started.

1.) The MK20DN512 processor does not have it's own eval board. When you download the NXP SDK, they point you to the twrk60d100m as the closest option. Should I select this eval board in config.h? If so do I then simply modify the following code to use the correct processor (and change other settings as necessary), or is there a better approach?

2.) Apart from config.h and app_hw_kinetis.h are there any files in the serial loader which will need modified?

3.) Any other tips?

Thanks!

Offline mark

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • uTasker
Re: Getting Started With a Custom PCB
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2019, 02:45:35 AM »
Hi

In the case of the MK20DN512 it is in fact basically an MK60DN512 without Ethernet.
Therefore one strategy would be to select the TWR_K60D100M target and ensure that ETH_INTERFACE is not enabled (or add DEVICE_WITHOUT_INTERNET in its section to be sure).
You may be able to leave app_hw_kinetis.h untouched, unless you prefer to add a dedicated target (based on a copy of the same tower board with any custom edits on top - maybe to use a different crystal or different LEDs and switches, for example).
Beware that the TWR boards with Ethernet tend to have a 50MHz oscillator as default so you will likely need to switch this (in app_hw_kinetis.h) to the crystal option, which is often available as option on the board too. To do this use something like