Author Topic: write to a file after close  (Read 16452 times)

Offline Lukas

• View Profile
write to a file after close
« on: April 29, 2008, 02:25:45 PM »
Hallo.
I'm new in the uTasker world. I read the two docs about the filesystem, but still have a problem:
I open a new file:
Code: [Select]
   unsigned char *ptrLogfile = uOpenFile("Ulog.TXT");
   uFileWrite(ptrLogfile, data_log, 6, 0);
   uFileCloseMime(ptrLogfile, &ucMimeType);
When the file does not exist, it works. Otherwise not. Can't find why.
Also I can't write to the file a second time, after i close it.

Want to log the data from UART in a array, then write it to a file, send this file over TCP/IP. When the next value comes from the UART, want to open the file, add the new value to the existing and so on.
Someone can help me?

Regards
Lukas

Offline mark

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • uTasker
Re: write to a file after close
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2008, 03:09:24 PM »
Hi Lukas

First a question about the file you wish to save.

Are you sure that you need to save it to FLASH (file) and not just keep a copy of the data in RAM?

The actual details involved are a bit HW specific (for example you could be saving to internal FLASH or external FLASH). The rules are different depending on the size of the FLASH granularity (eg. the STR91 will have a granularity of 64k or the SAM7X will have a granularity of 256 bytes). I will assume you are using maybe the LPC23XX since you are setting the ucSubFile parameter when using uFileWrite(), in which case life becomes (unfortunately) even more complicated.

Taking your example: you are opening a file with name "Ulog.TXT", which is basically returning a pointer to its location in memory.
Then you write 6 bytes of data to it.
Then you close the file, meaning that its length is written and its mime type (TXT) set as reference to its content type. This file is now visible in the file system as "U.TXT" and its length can be requested - which will return 6.