Author Topic: Simulator and Win7  (Read 9309 times)

Offline Oellness

• View Profile
Simulator and Win7
« on: January 18, 2010, 09:07:25 AM »
Hello,

i'm new with the µTasker Project so i tried the Demo Tutorial for the SAM7X.

I can compile the Simulator with VS2008 and the problem i've got is that i don't get a response if i ping to the simulator.

The IP Address from my PC is 192.168.166.21 with 255.255.255.0
My Fritzbox 7210 IP Address is 192.168.166.1

I change the IP Address in aplication.c in 192.168.166.166 with 255.255.255.0 and the Gateway and DNS Address to 192.168.166.1
I also change the MAC Address to 00 16 27 12 31 23

Now i start the Simulator and choose the NIC from my PC (NIC from NVIDIA Nforce 4 Board) but i don't get a response if i try to ping 192.168.166.166.

Please help me!
Thanks!
Best Reards
Oellness

Offline mhoneywill

• View Profile
Re: Simulator and Win7
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2010, 11:09:24 AM »
Hello Oellness,

Here are a few things I would try. I would try each in turn.

1. Ensure that you have Wireshark installed which will mean that winpcap is installed. uTasker uses winpcap to create a bridge to its virtual network. This is probably installed otherwise I think uTasker would not run correctly.

2. When Running the simulator ensure that you go to the menu bar and under the "LAN" option choose "Select working NIC", then using the drop down box choose the network adapter that is on the 192.168.166.xxx subnet. If this shows "No Device used for simulation" or the wrong network adapter, then you will need to stop the simulator and restart it. Because uTasker only checks this value on program startup.

3. Ensure that the Lan adapter that you are connecting to in uTasker (The one on your 192.168.166.xxx subnet), is actually plugged into something and shows a link light, winpcap seems to need this.

4. You may have some firewalls running that block communications, try disabling them.