Author Topic: Setting up ADC  (Read 16085 times)

Offline kyoniori

• View Profile
Setting up ADC
« on: April 06, 2010, 05:31:17 AM »
hi, im a newbie to MCU, this is my 1st project using uTasker wif Freescale MCF52235...
i wan to setup ADC for my analog input, but i have no idea how to start the coding because its not available in the TaskConfig.h
it seems like the only code in the demo regarding to ADC is the ADC_timer.h...
any idea??
thanks in advance

Offline mark

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • uTasker
Re: Setting up ADC
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2010, 01:07:50 PM »
Hi

There are a few discussions of the use of the ADC with the M522XX project in the forum - start here: http://www.utasker.com/forum/index.php?topic=680.0

It is correct that the demonstration has all ADC code in the file ADC_timer.h. There are a few options, depending on the type of processor used, but the M522XX demo makes use of threshold values to cause interrupts to be triggered when signals pass certain levels or change across the zero crossing threshold. These are interesting functions supported by the device since the application code doesn't need to actually read the ADC but can still monitor threshold levels.

There are however various usages of the ADC so this may not match your requirement. In the case of simply sampling values the interface supports calling this function (it is used to read the value when there was a trigger, so this is a valid reference - see the configuration adc_setup.int_adc_mode = (ADC_READ_ONLY | ADC_GET_RESULT);).

There is no task used which samples input values so if you would like such a task you will need to add one (eg., one that is executed periodically) - there is an introduction to adding new tasks in http://www.utasker.com/docs/uTasker/uTaskerV1.4_user_guide.PDF

Regards

Mark

Offline kyoniori

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2010, 02:17:44 AM »
Thank you Mark...
At least I have some guides on how to start...

Offline kyoniori