Author Topic: Debugging uTaskerV1.4_BM.elf on TWR-K64F120M in MCUXpresso  (Read 6358 times)

Offline Stephen

• View Profile
Debugging uTaskerV1.4_BM.elf on TWR-K64F120M in MCUXpresso
« on: January 11, 2018, 06:41:44 PM »
Hello,

I recently got the uTakser v1.4 code. I successfully configured, compiled, downloaded and stepped through the uTaskerBM_loader.elf bootloader code, and the normal uTakserV1.4.elf (application without bootloader support PFLASH origin=0x0).

Now I would like to do the same with the uTaskerV1.4_BM.elf (application to use with bootloader module with PLASH origin=0x8080). It compiles and downloads but the debugger is not hitting the first breakpoint - possibly the chip is resetting before the break point is hit.

I am guessing that I am missing a setting in the debug configuration, but I have not been able to make it work as of yet. Any tips? I am new to Kinetis so I was hoping to get a quicker answer than me reading through the manuals at this point...

This is on the TWR-K64F120M in MCUXpresso 10.1, PE Micro Multilink Universal FX debugger.

Offline mark

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • uTasker
Re: Debugging uTaskerV1.4_BM.elf on TWR-K64F120M in MCUXpresso
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 08:19:34 PM »
Stephen

I don't have much experience with MCUXpress at the moment - I prefer KDS since it is more mature - when I worked with MCUXpress 10.0.0_344 I found a number of things that made it rather awkward to work with so I am waiting for a more mature release where I hope some rather basic things are then fixed.

Usually debuggers shouldn't have any problem with working with uTaskerV1.4_BM.elf - for example quality IDEs like IAR just work as normal. I remember that CW10.x needed a reset command to be executed before it would stop at the entry point. You could try doing that to see whether it then starts behaving.